How to make ipv6 connection?

farway06

New Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2019
Messages
28
Reaction score
6
Points
5
Age
21
Hello

I ordered the vps which is an ipv6. I don't know how to make an SSH connection. Anybody know anything about this? I get an error when I enter ipv6 address in putty
 

Alligatoras

Administrator
Joined
Mar 31, 2016
Messages
2,111
Reaction score
2,353
Points
341
Age
26
Location
Greece
Website
ciphers.pw
Hello

I ordered the vps which is an ipv6. I don't know how to make an SSH connection. Anybody know anything about this? I get an error when I enter ipv6 address in putty
did you put the ip into the brackets? Like this [::1]
 

farway06

New Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2019
Messages
28
Reaction score
6
Points
5
Age
21
I haven't used ipv6 before. I don't know how to connect. I have forwarded you the ipv6 address via private message. Will you check the Putty connection?
 

Alligatoras

Administrator
Joined
Mar 31, 2016
Messages
2,111
Reaction score
2,353
Points
341
Age
26
Location
Greece
Website
ciphers.pw
You have to put the ip into the bruckets i posted above.
So if your ip is
"aaaa:bbb:ccc:dddd:eeee:ffff:gggg:hhhh" then in putty you need to type this: "[aaaa:bbb:ccc:dddd:eeee:ffff:gggg:hhhh]"
 

Alligatoras

Administrator
Joined
Mar 31, 2016
Messages
2,111
Reaction score
2,353
Points
341
Age
26
Location
Greece
Website
ciphers.pw
for me it works fine with just putting this so my guess, does your ssh configuration reads the ipv6 for ssh connection?
 

farway06

New Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2019
Messages
28
Reaction score
6
Points
5
Age
21
I said I have no information with ipv6 I don't know where to adjust.
 

farway06

New Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2019
Messages
28
Reaction score
6
Points
5
Age
21
Hey,

Do you have support for IPv6 from your ISP? To verify visit: https://test-ipv6.com
I've already looked at that.


Your IPv4 address on the public Internet appears to be xxxx
Your Internet Service Provider (ISP) appears to be TTNET
No IPv6 address detected [more info]
You appear to be able to browse the IPv4 Internet only. You will not be able to reach IPv6-only sites.
To ensure the best Internet performance and connectivity, ask your ISP about native IPv6. [more info]
We are sometimes unable to detect Teredo and 6to4 when using HTTPS. [more info]
HTTPS support on this web site is in beta. [more info]
Your DNS server (possibly run by your ISP) appears to have IPv6 Internet access.
 

Alligatoras

Administrator
Joined
Mar 31, 2016
Messages
2,111
Reaction score
2,353
Points
341
Age
26
Location
Greece
Website
ciphers.pw
I've already looked at that.


Your IPv4 address on the public Internet appears to be xxxx
Your Internet Service Provider (ISP) appears to be TTNET
No IPv6 address detected [more info]
You appear to be able to browse the IPv4 Internet only. You will not be able to reach IPv6-only sites.
To ensure the best Internet performance and connectivity, ask your ISP about native IPv6. [more info]
We are sometimes unable to detect Teredo and 6to4 when using HTTPS. [more info]
HTTPS support on this web site is in beta. [more info]
Your DNS server (possibly run by your ISP) appears to have IPv6 Internet access.
uhh, that's your problem. Your vps has ipv6, but you don't.
Both you as client and the server must have ipv6 in order to work.
 
Joined
May 15, 2017
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
36
Age
29
Location
Turkey
Website
rootnician.com
I've already looked at that.


Your IPv4 address on the public Internet appears to be xxxx
Your Internet Service Provider (ISP) appears to be TTNET
No IPv6 address detected [more info]
You appear to be able to browse the IPv4 Internet only. You will not be able to reach IPv6-only sites.
To ensure the best Internet performance and connectivity, ask your ISP about native IPv6. [more info]
We are sometimes unable to detect Teredo and 6to4 when using HTTPS. [more info]
HTTPS support on this web site is in beta. [more info]
Your DNS server (possibly run by your ISP) appears to have IPv6 Internet access.
Non of the isps in Turkey doesn't support ipv6 yet.
 

Asphyxia

Server Monkey
Administrator
Joined
Apr 25, 2015
Messages
1,512
Reaction score
2,011
Points
287
Age
26
Location
North America
I get an error when I enter ipv6 address in putty
Want a simple solution that is kinda ghetto but will work?

Run a VPS in the cloud (Windows-based) with support fpr IPv6. Vultr comes to mind for example!

This will be expensive likely (mainly due to the Windows licensing).

You could also use Ubuntu and setup Xrdp although this could be somewhat slow for you. TeamViewer or an alternative like this could provide a more smooth experience.

Make sure to have IPv4 and IPv6 support on the system. This then looks like:
IPv4 (you) to IPv4 (VPS) --- then connecting from IPv4 VPS with IPv6 support to the IPv6 target. There may be other ways to do this, just an example.
 

Top